You know a lot of people go to college for seven years . . .

Tommy: Did you hear I finally graduated?

Richard Hayden: Yeah, and just a shade under a decade too. All right.

Tommy: You know a lot of people go to college for seven years.

Richard Hayden: I know, they’re called doctors.

Ok, so maybe it has been almost a whole year since I’ve posted on my blog – but a lot of people take a year to blog . . . Well no time like the present to change that. Do you know why? Because today is THAT day as they say in manga/anime. November 1st! First day of NaNoWriMo! For some it is revered as the most anticipated day of the year. For others, the most dreaded! And yet for some it is the first day of that month filled with food, black Fridays, and the beginning of Christmas music.

I never did follow-up my post last year about NaNoWriMo. So here it is . . . I Won!! Yay! Woohoo! *crowd cheers* and then the silence returns. I didn’t win a million dollars or get a book published, I won self-satisfaction. I beat the Writer’s Block Self Doubt Dragon into submission and slayed it with 50,000 words (63,000 actually). And then I didn’t touch the story for the rest of the year! Well, not entirely true but it felt like it. I allowed my inner editor to rear its ugly depreciating head and convince me that it was in need of A LOT of work. The worse part is that I listened. So now here I am another NaNoWriMo later still with no finished works. But that’s ok. I’m back with a vengeance. I have a story that I am pretty excited about and I am going to venture into the Novel Dragon’s lair armed with new characters and adventures.

I did it once, I can do it again (*repeat in head until believed*)

So here is to another 30 days of locking the inner editor in the closet and getting my writing on!

One thought on “You know a lot of people go to college for seven years . . .

Leave a Reply

