Weekend of writing dangerously

Life has been, well life and last week I ended up going 4 days without any NaNoWriMo writing. I was 6,000 words behind the pace. In the NaNoWriMo community they have what’s called The Night of Writing Dangerously. It’s an event in San Francisco where participants go to spend 7 hours writing. They do word sprints, and other activities to help people catch up on their word count.

Stasi and I decided to come to the cabin and do our weekend of writing. However, by 4 pm on Saturday I had only written 600 words. I was going to be 7,000 words behind in just 8 hours.

So I sent out a Tweet and buckled down. I put on the soundtrack to Big Hero 6 and found the zone. How? By following Chuck’s advice yet again. I wrote. I wrote crap, but I wrote. Then little by little the writing got a little better. I don’t know if it ever got “good” but I finished Saturday just 1,000 words off the mark. I think that was the best day I had up to that point. Just over 6,000 words.

I am finding that my writing groove, much like my wife’s seems to happen at night. Sunday was really no different. I worked through the day off and on but had trouble finding a groove. I don’t know that I ever did find it, not like Saturday, but by 12:00 am Monday morning I was sitting 3,000 words above the ‘on par’ word count.

My wife has had a similar story though she put my word count to shame. You should hop on over to her blog and check it out too. She is even posting her story on the blog.

http://anastasiabetts.wordpress.com

So here is to a week of continued writing since I have to fly to Mexico for three days on business, but I have two pretty long flights plus layovers to pound out the words 🙂

Peace!

Leave a Reply

