To Infinity and Beyond. . .

NO, this is not a post about Disney. You’ll have to visit my Disney Photography page for that (shameless plug). This post is about the newly released Interstellar by Christopher Nolan. I have been tracking this movie for some time and have been greatly anticipating its arrival. It seems like there are 2 types of Chris Nolan fans – Love him or Hate him. I would be in the former. I have like his style of story telling since Momento. I was BLOWN away by Inception, The Dark Knight has been one of my favorite movies for a LONG time (and not just because of Heath’s performance – though that was a HUGE part of it).

I wasn’t super keen on the casting but that was not enough to get in the way of my enjoyment. It had some of my favorite actors (McConaughey, Hathaway, Chastain, and even the suprise cameo that I won’t mention in case you haven’t seen it yet… you could always look up the movie on IMDB if you must). It was just the roles that they had been cast in that I had some trouble with.

There were also a few plot points that bugged but not enough to pull me out of the story.

What this movie had was a visual feast. Though it did not give me the creepies of being in space like Gravity did (I will NEVER want to be an astronaut again), it did give me a visual idea of things I had not been able to comprehend. Like the wormhole…*Mind Blown*. Ok, so maybe everyone else already had this vision but I hadn’t. I knew the theories behind bending two points in space, but we always look at it via a white board or piece of paper. When they showed their idea of how that works in this movie, my jaw dropped. SUPER cool.

The other cool thing was behind the scenes geeky stuff…because my background is in IT, anytime I hear about technical things on a movie, I geek out. This was no different. Scientists used mathematical formulas to come up with the worm hole and black hole stuff in the film. Then they gave it to the computer programmers to create realistic models with. According to Wikipedia’s page of the film under the section, “Some individual frames took up to 100 hours to render, and resulted in 800 terabytes of data.” – I believe that is the closest thing to an actual Petabyte that i’ve heard of.

Regardless, with Hans Zimmer at the helm of the movie score, amazing actors, and an incredible director, Interstellar was in my book well worth the money. It’s long, however, so beware.

One thought on “To Infinity and Beyond. . .

Leave a Reply

